Announcing News

If you’ve read my blog for awhile you’ll know one of my pet hates is Facebook related bad behaviour. 

In this segment of my blog/rant (sorry in advance) you’ll read about another Facebook etiquette slip up far too many people (in my opinion) partake in. 

The Facebook announcement of news… That isn’t your news! And let’s take that one step further, the people’s whose news it is hasn’t announced it yet. Yes.. those announcements. 

To set the scene, Couple A are having a baby. Yay for them. But they aren’t a public announcement type of couple, 100% their choice. 

Their MIL takes it upon herself to announce it on Facebook. Ok, so this first faux pas you could excuse as soon-to-be excited grandparent behaviour, so you maybe let that slide. 

Roll on the day of the baby’s birth. The new parents inform their family of their new arrival and they get down to business of getting to know their beautiful baby and becomming a family. 

Enter MIL – announcing the birth of the baby bearing in mind said MIL is “friends” with almost everyone in the town where the new mother grew up.

I just don’t understand. 

Facebook is a great – don’t get me wrong, I waste far too much time on there. But, if it’s not your news and you haven’t been specifically asked to announce news by the person whose news it is, then don’t announce it. 

That’s it rant over. If you made it this far I thank you šŸ˜‰ 

Leave a comment